Thomas Wormitt

Photo: Ben Glauss Photography

Thomas Wormitt, born 1983 in the German town of Mönchengladbach, has been studying since 2004 at Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen. He started out with studying the flute as an apprentice of Prof. Gunhild Ott, followed by the study of traverso under the instruction of Michael Schmidt-Casdorff, and since 2013 Generalbass (harpsichord, organ) with Prof. Christian Rieger. Numerous masterclasses and academies enriched his musical education. Thomas focuses on performance practice, and after extensively studying music of different eras, including numerous first performances, he now dedicates himself to early music and period performance practice.

After several awards at the German “Jugend musiziert” competition, he won a scholarship “jeunesse modern” and the 1. Folkwangpreis “Konzeptkonzert” in 2007. In 2009, he won a scholarship for the “LiveMusicNow” programme and was registered with his flute trio “Trio Werethina” at the “Folkwang.AGENTUR”. In 2012, he co-founded the early music ensemble “Les Visionnaires”. In 2013 the group was nominated for the Berlin Bach Competition and was awarded the Gebrüder Graun-Preis at the international competition in Bad Liebenwerda. As a harpsichord player he could win the Folkwangpreis competition a second time with the project „Max, der Spatz“. With the newCicerone Ensemble he could attain the semifinal of int. Van Wassenaer Concours, Utrecht, and win the scholarship of the German Music Competition (DMW). He will be part of the 2016/17 selection young artists concerts bei the German music council. In June 2015 they won the advancement award of the Köhler-Osbahr-Foundation.

Concert tours took him to Brazil, India, throughout Europe and to some of the important concert halls in Germany. He participated in several youth orchestras and rounded his ensemble experience off in well-known Orchestras like “Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest”, „Harmonie Universelle“ and “Cappella Coloniensis”. As a soloist, he appeared with the Aachen Symphony Orchestra, contemporary music ensemble “Folkwang.modern” and the Orchestra of the Folkwang University of the Arts.

Thomas Wormitt

Foto: DMW/Axel Nickolaus

Foto: DMW/Axel Nickolaus

Thomas Wormitt, geboren 1983 in Mönchengladbach, studiert seit 2004 an der Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen, zunächst Querflöte bei Prof. Gunhild Ott, anschließend Traversflöte bei Michael Schmidt-Casdorff und seit 2013 Generalbass an historischen Tasteninstrumenten (Cembalo, Orgel) bei Prof. Christian Rieger. Zahlreiche Meisterkurse und Sommerakademien ergänzen die Ausbildung. Nach intensiver Auseinandersetzung mit zeitgenössischer Musik, einschließlich einiger Uraufführungen, widmet sich Thomas Wormitt nun vor allem der Alten Musik und historischer Aufführungspraxis.

Ersten Wettbewerbserfolgen bei Jugend musiziert folgten während des Studiums ein Stipendium „jeunesse modern“ und die Verleihung des 1. Folkwang-Preis Konzeptkonzert 2007 als Flötist/Initiator für „Das traurige Konzert“. 2009 wurde er in die Förderung durch LiveMusicNow und mit dem “Trio Werethina” in die Folkwang AGENTUR aufgenommen und ist 2012 Gründungsmitglied des Barockensembles “Les Visionnaires”, das bereits im Folgejahr für den Berliner Bach Wettbewerb nominiert wurde und beim internationalen Wettbewerb in Bad Liebenwerda mit dem Gebrüder Graun-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde. 2013 gewann er als Cembalist mit dem Projekt „Max, der Spatz“ erneut den Folkwang-Preis Konzeptkonzert. Mit dem 2014 neu gegründeten Cicerone Ensemble erreichte er das Halbfinale des Int. Van Wassenaer Concous Utrecht, wurde 2015 beim Deutschen Musikwettbewerb in Lübeck mit dem Stipendium des DMW ausgezeichnet und wird 2016/17 in die Bundesauswahl Konzerte junger Künstler aufgenommen. Im Juni 2015 erspielte sich das Ensemble den Förderpreis der Köhler-Osbahr-Stiftung.

Konzertreisen führten ihn bereits nach Brasilien, Indien, durch Europa und in einige der wichtigsten Konzertsäle Deutschlands. Er wirkte in verschiedenen Jugendorchestern mit und konnte seine Ensembleerfahrung in namhaften Orchestern wie Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest, Harmonie Universelle oder Cappella Coloniensis vertiefen. Als Solist trat er mit dem Aachener Sinfonieorchester, dem Ensemble folkwang.modern und dem Sinfonieorchester der Folkwang UdK auf.